Reviews

What people are saying about Compston House American Style B & B




Highly Recommend - Rating 5/5

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay and we couldn\'t fault the welcome we received by Megan & John. The room we booked was clean and very comfortable with everything you need for a stay.The choice at breakfast was fantastic and everything was cooked to perfection and certainly filled you up until the evening. My husband particularly enjoyed the homemade pancakes. Hats off to Megan & John for being great hosts and making our stay so comfortable. We\'ll certainly be back!!!

Reviewer:Claire Jacques | Wed 20th Sep 2017


Another Great stay at Compston House - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Compston House many times and it has always been excellent.This was our first stay since Megan and John have taken over the property and I must say they have made a great start, John\'s breakfasts are fantastic, Compston House has always had a good reputation for the breakfasts but I can honestly say Megan and John have greatly improved this even further with high quality locally sourced items.The rooms as always were fresh and clean.We look forward to returning and seeing some of the changes John and Megan intend to carry out as these will no doubt improve on an already top notch B& B.

Reviewer:Paul Owen | Fri 15th Sep 2017


Super BnB and location! - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant 2 night stay, 24 hour parking permit handed out on arrival and car parks just around the corner. Excellent choice of breakfast courses, really well made and well presented, highly recommended.Our room was a little cold on the first night, heating on night 2 but we found a fleece blanket we used. Winter quilts might be appreciated soon! Very clean, bijou shower room, fine for a couple of nights, tea and coffee tray appreciated. Thank you, a super stay.

Reviewer:Julie Kaine | Thu 14th Sep 2017


A warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Meg and John made us feel very welcome on arriving.Our room was warm and comfortable and certainly a very welcome retreat when returning at the end of a days walking.Breakfast was great!!! American style or otherwise, we had a good choice and certainly more than enough to set you up for a hard days slog up those fells.Meg and John made sure we knew where the best local eateries were and included a couple of suggestions for discounts (always welcome).Little things like leaving a bowel of chocolates out on the landing added to the feeling of being made welcome.Both Annie and I would not hesitate to thoroughly recommend Compston House for your stay in the Lake District, we\'ll certainly be returning very soon.

Reviewer:Jerram Gosnell | Wed 13th Sep 2017


Compston House - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay will be back to see your puppy shortly.Thanks ,Brian/Jan

Reviewer:Brian McDonald | Sun 10th Sep 2017


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What can I say John and meg are lovely people they was really welcoming and nothing was to much trouble are room was spotless and the breakfast was amazing the American pancakes are a mustmy husband loved the sausage so meg give us the address of we\'re to get them so he has stocked up on are way home I would definitelyreturn perfect locationyou also get a parking permit to which is great and can be used in a number of car parks

Reviewer:Alison conley | Sat 9th Sep 2017


Relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely relaxing stay. Breakfast\'s where as good as ever especially the salmon and scrambled eggs. Beautifully clean room and comfy bed. John and Meg are very friendly withand helpful. We will be coming back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Reviewer:Sue corlass | Sat 26th Aug 2017


Excellent B&B, amazing breakfasts and hosts - Rating 5/5

We had a really lovely stay at Compston House B&B. Stayed in the Florida room which was nice and spacious, very clean and comfortable and had great views. Perfect location, very central to all amenities and restaurants. The hosts Meg and John made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were amazing and all local produce. We looked forward to this every morning and John's american breakfasts set us up for the day, especially the blueberry pancakes, delicious! On Sunday mornings, Meg makes fresh blueberry and brings them around to all which was a lovely touch. Would thoroughly recommend and we have already rebooked for our next trip.

Reviewer:wendypeache | Fri 25th Aug 2017


Excellent breakfasts, lovely B&B! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Compston House for four nights last week in the Montana room. The B&B is really conveniently located, with the added bonus of free parking permits for the local car parks. Megan and John were very friendly and welcoming, and went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. Their restaurant recommendations were spot-on. The breakfasts (cooked by John) were excellent, especially the pancakes! We will definitely stay here again in future. Thanks for a lovely stay, and we look forward to meeting the new dog next time!

Reviewer:iheather | Thu 24th Aug 2017


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

This was my first experience of staying in a B&B on my own, and Meg and John could not have made me more welcome. I stayed in the single room Pennsylvania, which although small was spotless with plenty of storage, a good shower and incredibly comfortable bed. I'm not a big breakfast eater so only managed yogurt & fruit and a few pancakes most mornings, but Meg was able to provide me with whatever I asked for, including bacon and blueberries. She also made sure I got a very quick breakfast so I could make my train on the final day.The only improvement to the room would have been a net curtain as I did face a busy road and park. Excellent Wifi in the room though.The location was ideal for eating out in Ambleside, literally just down the road from many of the restaurants. Would definitely come again

Reviewer:Clare A | Mon 21st Aug 2017


B&B - Rating 5/5

Great breakfast and local knowledge.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Bobb | Sun 20th Aug 2017


Excellent breakfasts and hospitality- Rating 5/5

We were very happy that the breakfasts lived up to their reputation! Megan and John were excellent hosts - very helpful and friendly. The room was small but comfortable and well-featured. The B& B is excellently located, and the free parking permits were really useful. We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to meeting the dog and seeing what the refurb plans hold!

Reviewer:Mr. William Blackshaw | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Excellent stay with wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

We loved our six day stay in this guesthouse in Ambleside. The breakfasts were very good as reported by others, and my wife loved her blueberry pancakes. Great to have proper cloth napkins also. The room and bed were comfortable, though the room being on the corner of a fairly busy intersection, the windows could have done with net curtains (I recommended this to John and Meg on departure, which they said they would consider). The bathroom was uncomfortably small, though I realise this is unavoidable given the dimensions of the rooms in an old house. John and Meg, the new owners, are very friendly and helpful, and excellent exemplars of customer service. We would certainly stay again on return visits to the Lake District. Thanks to both of them for giving us a great and memorable stay.

Reviewer:Johntimelord | Mon 7th Aug 2017


Stayed with our friends from Austrailia - Rating 5/5

Had been recommended Compston House and when we arrived found that it had new owners. Well Meg and John could not have done anymore to make our stay great. They are doing a fantastic job, very clean and food fantastic.Thank You Kev & Jackie and the Aussies.

Reviewer:Mr. kevin marriner | Sun 6th Aug 2017


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We could not fault our stay. The hotel was spotless and the hosts very welcoming. There were lots of nice touches such of a bowl of chocolates on the stairs and homemade blueberry muffins. We were even given 2 to take away after my husband said how good they were. As my husband was swimming the lake and would miss breakfast they even offered to make him a bacon sarnie to take with him. The Hawaii room was a nice size with a small but adequate bathroom. If you need lots of wriggle room this may not be the bathroom for you. The bed was very comfy and there was a lot of storage. The parking permits helped enormously and a very welcome surprise. We would not hesitate to stay again. The fact that they had only been there 2 months Is amazing and their years in the hospitality industry across the world is clear. We wish them lots of success

Reviewer:Mr. PaulJennings | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Happy Days! - Rating 5/5

Love Compston House. Megan and John are so welcoming and friendly and couldn\'t do enough for us. They made our stay in Ambleside so enjoyable and we will definitely stay with them again. My Coeliac diet was catered for admirably and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Maggie Winfield | Sat 29th Jul 2017


excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our time there. A perfect place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Timothy Cooke | Wed 26th Jul 2017


First Class Hospitality - Rating 5/5

A big thank thank you to Meg and John, the new owners, for a great week. They are a lovely young couple with a lot of hospitality experience behind them and will make this new venture very successful. The guest house is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast menu is delicious and very substantial. The guest house is in a good location for walking into town with many good restaurants and cinemas nearby, plus mini golf and three new tennis courts. Great hospitality, we hope to return in the future! Ann, Ian and Adam.

Reviewer:amidala36 | Tue 18th Jul 2017


great b&b- Rating 5/5

This was the second time staying there and same again we wasnt disappointed good room very clean and grate food would recommend it

Reviewer:Mr. shane hawley | Mon 17th Jul 2017


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

I just loved everything:nice and clean room, breakfast, location! Megan and John are wonderful hosts. Thank you!

Reviewer:Rita Damo | Sat 15th Jul 2017


New owners same welcome - Rating 5/5

A bit of a surprise on our journey up to get a call from Meg to say they had just taken over from Sue and Jerry. Our concerns were short lived as when we arrived we were greeted like old friends by Meg and John. John carried my bags up to the Florida room which was very kind of him. Breakfasts were just as good as before, John has got Sue's pancake recipe to a tee. It was our Wedding Anniversary whilst we were there and it was very sweet to come back from our walk to find a bottle of Prosecco on ice and two glasses. A lovely touch.All in all it was a lovely relaxing stay and Meg and John were perfect hosts. We look forward to returning for a break next year.

Reviewer:catherine187062 | Sat 8th Jul 2017


Short Lake District break - Rating 5/5

The owners were very welcoming and helpful and provided my husband and I with a parking permit which can be used in a few car parks around the area (check the list that is also provided). The rooms all have a different American theme and the public areas are decorated in a tasteful Art Deco theme. The room and en-suite were clean and well stocked with toiletries and tea tray items. The breakfasts were plentiful, very nice and included good quality produce. The authentic American pancakes were very good.

Reviewer:Alexis M | Thu 6th Jul 2017


Amazing place - Rating 5/5

What a lovely b&b. Room was great and very comfortable bed. Bathroom a bit of a squeeze but coped. And after the breakfast, we didn't eat another meal all day! We will be back. Thanks.

Reviewer:Howsyb | Wed 14th Jun 2017


Amazing breakfast, gem of a B and B - Rating 5/5

Location excellent, perfect for town and only a ten minute walk to Waterhead Pier. Florida room so spacious and airy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast best we ever had in any bed and breakfast or hotel, do not miss the American pancakes. When in Ambleside, stay with them at Compston House.

Reviewer:Happyholidaymaker665 | Tue 30th May 2017


great B&B to stay - Rating 5/5

stayed here for one night in may. spotlessly clean room, great breakfast(I had the American but couldn't eat it all) and lovely hosts. good location for walk up loughrigg fell or for a drink/meal in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Gwokka840 | Thu 11th May 2017


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian